Amateur Hockey Association of Canada, 1889

January 12, 2017 by in Amateur Hockey Association of Canada, Early Hockey tags: , ,

In 1889, the teams that made up the main circuit for the Montreal Winter Carnival played a season-long stand-alone hockey league that coincided with the popular winter festival. In fact, the MWC Hockey Tournament was cancelled as the teams decided to play for the first time a balanced schedule against each other instead of the series challenge format that had been played up to now. The Montreal Hockey Club, Montreal Crystals, Quebec Hockey Club, and the Montreal Victorias participated in a balanced schedule at the Crystal and Victoria hockey rinks, following the same format found in the predecessor Montreal Winter Carnival.

The third season played in 1889 (played from February 2 to March 27) saw The Montreal Hockey Club win the Championship.

Championships to 1889 Season for Amateur Hockey Association of Canada
Team # of Championships Premier Championship Points
Montreal Hockey Club 4 (1885-86, 88-89) 11 (+3)
Montreal Crystals 1 (1887) 4
Montreal Victorias 1 (1884) 4
McGill University 1 (1883) 2

The MWC Tournament being the first ever organized Ice Hockey tournament lead to the creation of the first persistent league. The four Montreal teams plus Ottawa who all played in the MWC formed the AHAC in 1887 which became the first ever Ice Hockey League. Thus MWC Tournament is considered to be the direct predecessor to the AHAC for historical and statistical purposes. From this humble beginning ice hockey and its leagues established their beginning.

Al Young

Al Young

Al Young is a sports stats enthusiast and budding web designer. He loves how hockey history created legends and wanted to combine that with how hockey stats can be tell stories as well. is another web site dedicated to the group of 'stats-as-stories' web properties.
Al Young

Latest posts by Al Young (see all)

Leave a Comment!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *