Amateur Hockey Association of Canada, 1892

In 1892, the teams that formerly made up the main circuit for the Montreal Winter Carnival played a season-long stand-alone hockey league that was a successor to the popular winter festival. In fact, the MWC Hockey Tournament was cancelled as the teams decided to focus on their own league play. The Montreal Hockey Club, Montreal Shamrocks, Quebec Hockey Club, and the Ottawa Hockey Club participated in a challenge schedule at the Crystal and Rideau hockey rinks, following the same format found in the predecessor Montreal Winter Carnival. Ottawa Hockey Club became a temporary Champion from January 8 (by defeating the Montreal Hockey Club) until March 7 which was the final game of the season, when the Montreal HC defeated them at their home Rideau Rink. It was the Montreal HC’s only win of the season.

The result is said to have displeased Governor-General Stanley, and after the season, he announced his donation of the Stanley Cup at the Ottawa HC end-of-season banquet, and asked for changes in the determination of the championship. 1892 would be the last season played in a challenge format.

The sixth season played in 1892 (from January 8 to March 7) saw The Montreal Hockey Club win the Championship.

Championships to 1892 Season for Amateur Hockey Association of Canada
Team # of Championships Premier Championship Points
Montreal Hockey Club 7 (1885-86, 88-92) 22 (+3)
Montreal Crystals 1 (1887) 4
Montreal Victorias 1 (1884) 4
McGill University 1 (1883) 2

The AHAC was the first ever organized Ice Hockey league formed by four Montreal-based teams plus Ottawa. These five teams all played in the MWC Tournament so that tournament is considered to be the direct predecessor to the AHAC for historical and statistical purposes. From this humble start ice hockey and its leagues established their beginnings.

Al Young
Latest posts by Al Young (see all)

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *