Canadian Amateur Hockey League, 1900

In 1900, the Canadian Amateur Hockey League played its second season, having replaced the AHAC as the premier hockey league in 1899. This was created following a conflict within the AHAC, leading for the first Hockey Schism.

The CAHL was started by the top division teams from the AHAC, . The Montreal Hockey Club, Montreal Shamrocks, Montreal Victorias, Quebec Hockey Club, and the Ottawa Hockey Club participated in a balanced, round-robin league schedule.

The second season played in 1900 (played from January 6 to March 10) saw The Montreal Shamrocks win the Championship. 1900 was the eighth year that the Dominion Challenge Cup was awarded. The Montreal Shamrocks also retained the Cup by winning playoff games against the Winnipeg Victorias of the Manitoba Hockey Association (MHA) and the Halifax Crescents of the Maritimes Professional Hockey League (MaPHL) before winning the CAHL regular season. Premier-League Championship Points span to 1883-1900
Team # of Championships Premier Championship Points
Montreal Hockey Club 9 (1885-86, 88-94) 30
Montreal Victorias 5 (1884, 95-98) 20
Montreal Shamrocks 2 (1899-1900) 8 (+4)
Montreal Crystals 1 (1887) 4
McGill University 1 (1883) 2

The CAHL was the second premier Ice Hockey league, formed by four Quebec-based teams plus Ottawa. These five teams all played in the MWC Tournament and AHAC so that tournament and league are the direct predecessors to the CAHL for historical and statistical purposes.

Latest posts by Al Young (see all)

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *