Canadian Amateur Hockey League, 1901

In 1901, the Canadian Amateur Hockey League played its third season, having replaced the AHAC as the premier hockey league in 1899. This was created following a conflict within the AHAC, leading for the first Hockey Schism.

The CAHL was started by the top division teams from the AHAC, . The Montreal Hockey Club, Montreal Shamrocks, Montreal Victorias, Quebec Hockey Club, and the Ottawa Hockey Club participated in a balanced, round-robin league schedule.

The third season played in 1901 (played from January 5 to March 5) saw The Ottawa Hockey Club win the Championship. 1901 was the ninth year that the Dominion Challenge Cup was awarded. It was the previous season’s winner, the Montreal Shamrocks that had to defend the Cup against the Winnipeg Victorias of the Manitoba Hockey Association (MHA). Premier-League Championship Points span to 1883-1901
Team # of Championships Premier Championship Points
Montreal Hockey Club 9 (1885-86, 88-94) 30
Montreal Victorias 5 (1884, 95-98) 20
Montreal Shamrocks 2 (1899-1900) 8
Ottawa Hockey Club 1 (1901) 4 (+4)
Montreal Crystals 1 (1887) 4
McGill University 1 (1883) 2

The CAHL was the second premier Ice Hockey league, formed by four Quebec-based teams plus Ottawa. These five teams all played in the MWC Tournament and AHAC so that tournament and league are the direct predecessors to the CAHL for historical and statistical purposes.

Al Young
Latest posts by Al Young (see all)

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *