Canadian Amateur Hockey League, 1905

In 1905, the Canadian Amateur Hockey League played its seventh season, having replaced the AHAC as the premier hockey league in 1899. This was created following a conflict within the AHAC, leading for the first Hockey Schism.

The CAHL was started by the top division teams from the AHAC, . The Montreal Hockey Club, Montreal Shamrocks, Montreal Victorias, Quebec Hockey Club, and the Ottawa Hockey Club participated in a balanced, round-robin league schedule. In 1904 the Ottawa Hockey Club left the league partway through the season to join the rival Federal Amateur Hockey League (FAHL).

For the 1905 season the Ottawa Hockey Club wanted to return to the CAHL but only on the condition that fellow FAHL team, Montreal Wanderers be allowed to join. The CAHL refused as they disagreed with the Montreal Wanderers paying its players. The 1905 season saw two new Montreal based teams join, the Montreal Nationals who switched leagues from the FAHL and Montreal Westmount.

The seventh season played in 1905 (played from January 2 to March 11) saw The Montreal Victorias win the Championship. 1905 was the thirteenth year that the Dominion Challenge Cup was awarded. The Montreal Victorias issued a challenge against the Ottawa Hockey Club of the FAHL, but the trustees disagreed with the demanded format (The Victorias wanted a one or two game series while the trustees required a best of three series).

This would be the final year of the CAHL, with a new league being formed by the main teams of the CAHL and two teams from the FAHL including Ottawa that left in 1904. The new league would be called the Eastern Canada Amateur Hockey Association (ECAHA). Premier-League Championship Points span to 1883-1905
Team # of Championships Premier Championship Points
Montreal Hockey Club 10 (1885-86, 88-94, 1902) 34
Montreal Victorias 6 (1884, 95-98, 1905) 25 (+5)
Montreal Shamrocks 2 (1899-1900) 8
Ottawa Hockey Club/Silver Seven 2 (1901, 03) 8
Montreal Crystals 1 (1887) 4
Quebec Hockey Club 1 (1904) 4
McGill University 1 (1883) 2

The CAHL was the second premier Ice Hockey league, formed by four Quebec-based teams plus Ottawa. These five teams all played in the MWC Tournament and AHAC so that tournament and league are the direct predecessors to the CAHL for historical and statistical purposes.

Al Young
Latest posts by Al Young (see all)

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *