Montreal Winter Carnival Hockey Tournament in 1884


In 1883, the Montreal Amateur Athletic Association (MAAA) and McGill University were both asked to participate in the Montreal Winter Carnival by organizing for the first time ever an ice hockey tournament. The MAAA did not field a team, but McGill University fielded its own team, and two more teams were invited to play in a three-team tournament. This was the humble beginning of the Montreal Winter Carnival Hockey Tournament (MWCHT).

Montreal Winter Carnival ‘Logo’

The second Montreal Winter Carnival Hockey Tournament (MWCHT) was held from February 4 to February 11. The Montreal Victorias, McGill University, Quebec Hockey Club, Ottawa Hockey Club, and Montreal Wanderers contested for a Tournament trophy called the Carnival Cup. This second MWCHT expanded in scope from the the first year and helped become the beginning of the hockey league lineage that stretches to the modern day!

The 1884 tournament saw several games lost due to rain. The outdoor rink was unplayable on February 6 and the Crystals and Wanderers did not show at the rink for their games. Both teams lost by default although the games could not have been played.

The MWCHT would play almost every year starting in 1883 until 1889 when its member teams decided it was better to focus play on the Amateur Hockey Association of Canada (AHAC) which it created in 1887.

Season Length

February 4 to 11, 1884

Season Champion

McGill University

# of Teams


Season Standings (Overall Champion Challenge Record)

Season Playoffs

There were no championship playoffs as the Champion Challenge system was being used. A team would hold the title of Champion until it was defeated by a Challenger as was done in Boxing. The team holding the title at the end of the season would be declared the overall Champion.

Future Features